Close this search box.

Arkansas Teen Book Award

The Arkansas Teen Book Award was founded in 2009 in order to encourage reading among Arkansas youth and recognize quality young adult literature.

The Arkansas Teen Book Award has two audience divisions:

  • Level 1: 7th-9th grade
  • Level 2: 10th-12th grade

Reading List and Voting

Nominations for award consideration are accepted from the public. The nominated titles are read and voted on by teachers and librarians across Arkansas to create an annual reading list.

Teens vote for their favorite titles to determine the ultimate winners of the award.

Reader Registration, book nomination and voting forms are available on the Arkansas Teen Book Award website.

Steering Committee

The steering committee is composed of seven members: three public librarians, three school librarians, and one representative from the Arkansas State Library. Excepting the permanent Arkansas State Library position, all members serve a minimum four year term.

New members are solicited as needed. Libraries interested in serving on the committee are encouraged to first serve as a reader or moderator for the awards.

To become a future reader, recommend titles, or get more information about the program, please contact the steering committee via email at or the Arkansas Teen Book Award website.

The views expressed in titles nominated for the Arkansas Teen Book Award not necessarily reflect the views or official policies of the State of Arkansas, the Arkansas Department of Education, or the Arkansas State Library.