If All Arkansas Read the Same Book

Since 2001, If All Arkansas Read the Same Book is an annual, statewide reading program designed to encourage the enjoyment of reading and to promotion of book discussion in libraries of all types across Arkansas. Events for the project typically culminate in an author speaking tour.

The selection for 2020’s If All Arkansas Read the Same Book is bestselling author Kim Michele Richardson’s novel, The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek (Sourcebooks Landmark, 2019).

The novel takes place in Depression-era Kentucky, and follows Cussy Mary Carter who becomes a librarian during the the Works Progress Administration’s (WPA) Pack Horse Library Project. Since its original publication, the book remains popular with book club readers around the state and country.

Kim Michele Richardson portrait
Troublesome Creek book jacket

Virtual Author Speaking Tour

Due to concerns about COVID-19, the author will speak during virtual visits with statewide access. Everyone is welcome to attend!

To ensure the security of the virtual events, advance registration for Zoom attendance is required.

Email reminders will be sent the day before the scheduled event. The Zoom URL and password will be sent the day of the event.

Zoom registration is limited to 300 participants for each event. To expand access, both events will be live streamed over YouTube.

Past Book Selections

For more information, contact: