Close this search box.

Four More Libraries join the Arkansas State Library’s Mockingbird Catalog to Expand the Lending Network

Four More Libraries join the Arkansas State Library’s Mockingbird Catalog to Expand the Lending Network

Arkansas libraries and their patrons have celebrated over a year of access to the Mockingbird service, a dynamic resource that consolidates multiple library catalogs into a single, user-friendly platform. Mockingbird has enhanced the way library users can interact with the wealth of materials available throughout the state, facilitating interlibrary borrowing and new discovery of local special collections. Since its introduction, Mockingbird has created over 2,000 loans, marking a milestone in Arkansas’s efforts to expand library access.

This initiative unfolded in phases, beginning with the first cohort’s launch in June 2022, followed by the second in September 2022. The final phase welcomed four libraries in October 2023: Boreham Library at the University of Arkansas Fort Smith, Brackett Library at Harding University, Cleburne County Library, and the Pauline Whitaker Library and Information Commons at NorthWest Arkansas Community College. With these new additions, Mockingbird now spans 57 library accounts, serving over 150 library locations, fostering connections between Academic, Public, and Special Libraries across the state.

What sets Mockingbird apart is its ability to interact with 15 different integrated library systems throughout Arkansas, providing a seamless discovery and access experience through a web-based platform. The platform powering Mockingbird is SHAREit by Auto-Graphics, an industry leader in library resource management solutions. Arkansas proudly became the 15th state to adopt the platform for its statewide system. Auto-Graphics now extends its reach to 18 states, including Texas as of September 2023.

The overarching vision behind Mockingbird is to make the catalogs and collections of multiple libraries in Arkansas accessible to library users across the state. This initiative fosters inclusivity, enabling library users of all backgrounds and geographic locations to discover items and request them with the support of their local libraries.

It is important to note that policies, processes, and workflows for resource sharing logistics are determined locally by each participating library. Arkansas citizens wishing to access resources through the Mockingbird Virtual Union Catalog may do so through a participating local library. For additional details and inquiries, please contact Jessica Kirk, the statewide sharing and engagement coordinator at the Arkansas State Library, via email at

Participating Mockingbird libraries include Arkansas College of Health Education (Taylor Health Sciences Library); Arkansas River Valley Regional Library; Arkansas State Library; Arkansas State University (Beebe, Dean B. Ellis Library, & Three Rivers); Baxter County Library; Bella Vista Public Library; Bentonville Public Library; Calhoun County Library; CALS (Central Arkansas Library System); CAMALS (Carroll and Madison Regional Library System); Clark County Library; Cleburne County Library; Columbia County Libraries; Crawford County Library System; Crossett Public Library; Crowley Ridge Regional Library; East Central Arkansas Regional Library System; Faulkner-Van Buren Regional Library System; Forrest City Public Library; Fort Smith Public Library; Garland County Library; Gentry Public Library; Gravette Public Library; Harding University (Brackett Library); Hempstead County Public Library; Hendrix College (Bailey Library); Iva Jane Peek Public Library; Lawrence County Library; Lonoke County Library System; Marion County Library; Mid-Arkansas Regional Library System (Saline County Libraries in Bryant & Benton, & Malvern-Hot Spring County Library serving the Cleveland, Dallas, & Grant County Libraries); Newton County Library; North Little Rock Library System; Northeast Arkansas Regional Library (Corning Public Library, Greene County, Piggott Public Library, Randolph County, & Rector Public Library); NorthWest Arkansas Community College (Pauline Whitaker Library and Information Commons); Pea Ridge Public Library; Pope County Library; Prescott/Nevada County Library; Public Library of Camden & Ouachita County; Southeast Arkansas Regional Library; Southern Arkansas University Main Campus (Magale Library); Tri-County Regional Library System (Ashdown, Nashville, & De Queen); Union County Public Library System; University of the Arkansas – Fort Smith (Boreham Library); University of the Ozarks (Robson Library); and White County Libraries.

For more information, please contact:

Implementation of the Mockingbird virtual union catalog was made possible by funding from the American Rescue Plan Act. Ongoing funding for this project is provided in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services.