Rules of Use for the Arkansas State Library
-Use the Library
-Read Books, magazines, newspapers
-Use the Public Access Computer *2 hour maximum time limit daily & you must sign and comply with our -computer use policy. You must have a library card to use the computer. Guest passes will only be given to Arkansas residents and to out-of-state residents conducting research using Arkansas State Library collections and databases.
-Ask any library staff person for assistance.
All bags, cases, rolling carts or boxes-no matter the size-brought into the library may only contain items relevant to library use or scheduled meetings.
-Library staff may ask to look inside any bag, case, rolling cart or box at any time to determine if the contents are related to library use or if they suspect that library materials are being stolen.
-Keep all personal items with you at all times.
-Any items left unattended will be considered abandoned
The library does not allow
-Clothing choices disruptive to the library environment -- shirt and shoes at all times
-Smoking chewing or use of any tobacco product inside the library - smoking areas are designated outside the building
-Any animal that is not a licensed service animal
-Eating or drinking that is not part of a library function or meeting
-Anyone in the staff only areas unescorted
-Unattended children - Children under the age of 14 must be actively supervised by an adult
-Misuse of library furniture, equipment or technology
-Misuse of bathroom facilities
-Vandalism or the destruction of library property or materials
-Sexual activity of any kind
-The verbal or physical abuse of library staff or patrons *Verbal abuse includes telephone conversations
-Intoxication or the use of drugs
-Firearms or weapons of any kind
-Disruptions to the use of the library or the work of the library staff
Any library staff person or security guard can ...
-Ask any individual in the library if they need assistance & inform you of the rules of library use
-Eject you from the library or request administration ban you from library use
-Call building security or 9-1-1 for emergency assistance
Adopted Novemeber 12, 2010 by the Arkansas State Library Board/Revised February 11, 2011
Public Access Computers
- Patrons must sign a yearly Internet Use Agreement and abide by the Internet Use Policy
- Patrons are limited to 2 hours of computer use per day
- If other patrons are waiting for computer access, computer use is limited to 30 minutes
- All patrons under 14 years of age must be accompanied by a parent or guardian at all times
Click on this link for Arkansas State Library's Internet Use Policy
Requests may be made in person, over the telephone, through email, regular mail, or through our online form.
Reference requests are conducted free of charge.
The Arkansas State Library exists to meet the information needs of the Legislature and Arkansas state agencies. Staff are available to conduct exhaustive information searches for legislative offices and state agencies making work-related requests.
ASL Reference staff will conduct reference requests for public libraries. Libraries may also request circulating materials from ASL's collection through Interlibrary Loan.
In order to conduct an obituary search, please provide Reference staff with the name of the deceased, and his or her death date. It is also helpful if the place of death is known. Reference staff will search approximately one week after the date of death provided.
Patents & Trademarks
Reference staff will provide general information and resources regarding patents, trademarks, and copyrights. Staff can also provide one-on-one training for patrons on how to conduct a patent or trademark search. For additional information on these services, please refer to our patent and trademark page.
The Arkansas State Library subscribes to a wide range of subscription databases. Access to the databases is freely available for all patrons using the library's public access computers.
Arkansas state employees may apply for remote database access through an online application. Remote access is restricted to state employees only.