Arkansas Diamond Primary Book Award (K-3) 

2016 Arkansas Diamond Primary Award Winners


The Arkansas Diamond Primary Book Award was established by the Arkansas Elementary School Council in 1998 to encourage reading for students in Grades K-3.  The name of the award was chosen because Arkansas is the only diamond producing state.  Like the Charlie May Simon Award, the Arkansas Diamond Award is selected by an annual vote. Children in Grades K-3 must have read at least three of the titles from the annual reading list and may vote for one title. Student voting is done in April each year.  If you have questions about the awards or reading lists, please contact Cathy Howser at the Arkansas State Library, , 501-682-2860.



THE DAY THE CRAYONS QUIT, written by Drew Daywalt and illustrated by Oliver Jeffers, is the Winner of the 2016 Arkansas Diamond Primary Book Award. It was published by Penguin/Philomel in 2013.

   THE VERY INAPPROPRIATE WORD, written by Jim Tobin and illustrated by Dave Coverly, is the Diamond Honor Book for 2016.  It was published by Henry Holt in 2013.